Para Siempre Blanco

Marcos Tebar to Realmadrid.com

After joining the Real Madrid academy at the age of 12 and spending another 12 years playing for its youth teams, Marcos Tebar is ready to push for the final move to the first team. The Castilla midfielder has been a mainstay in first team training this preseason and he hopes that it leads to a permanent role on the squad.

Tebar: "I feel prepared to help the team"

How do you feel participating in the first team’s preseason?

I am very excited just as I was last year. Every preseason is different. Last year we had a different coach, but I am just as excited.

How have the first few days been?

They have been very intense and there has been a lot of hard work. We are doing a lot of ball drills in a very dynamic setting. We work on playing fast and in small areas.

How do you feel on a personal level?

Very good. I have the typical soreness and blisters that you get every preseason, but I feel great and am training well.

What is your take on the new coach, Jose Mourinho?

He is great. We are all happy with him. We are working at an intense pace and the coach pays close attention to what we do. He doesn’t lose sight of one small detail. Everyone is pleased with him and excited about the preseason.

He has also taken notice of the academy.

That is correct. He is treating us as if we were first teamers, which boosts our confidence when it comes time to training. He makes us feel excited to be here and to help the team.

What has Mourinho told you during these first few days?

We haven’t spoken one-on-one, but he has expressed his confidence in us. He has told us to remain calm and to play the way we know how to.

What about Mourinho has caught your attention?

His close relationship with the players. We didn’t know him but had heard that his way of being wasn’t what you would expect from a coach. He is very close to his players.

Is this your moment to shine?

Perhaps. I feel good and am excited and confident. If they need me I will be fit to help in any way I can.

Do you feel prepared to make the move to the first team?

Absolutely. I am confident and excited to be preparing the preseason with the first team. I am going to work as hard as I can and that won’t change if the coach decides to give me the chance to play in a match. I am sure any of us youth teamers will answer the call if the coach calls on us.

Do you feel more comfortable playing as a midfielder or a center-back?

I enjoy both although my natural position is in the midfield, which is where I played last season. With the first team I have been playing as a center-back. I think it is good to be versatile like that because you give the coach alternatives to work with.

Is versatility one of your strong suits?

I think so. A lot of teams value versatile players and I think it benefits me as well.

What must a footballer have to play in your position?

He must exercise restraint and know how to hold his position. He must be able to move the ball forward. There are several characteristics that can be covered by players with different profiles.

What is your best asset?

My ability to move the ball forward from the back. It’s the first pass; it’s what helps the team advance.

How do you see Castilla heading into the upcoming season?

I think we should be optimistic. Some good players were brought in and some very talented players were promoted from within the academy. I hope it’s a good year and that we at least make it to the playoffs for promotion.

What has Real Madrid taught you since you joined in 1998?

I have been taught how to be a footballer. I arrived when I was 12 and I have learned everything here. I have learned a set of values that I will keep with me for the rest of my life.

You spent the second half of last season on loan. What was that experience like?

The last six months were very positive for me because I got to play in Segunda Division and the playing time helped me mature. I was injured at one point, but I think it was a good experience overall.

How do you handle being one of the most experienced players on the Castilla squad?

I try to help the younger guys who just began training with the first team as much as I can. They came up straight from the Under-19 and Under-18 teams and they are very young. They are, however, doing a great job. I try to help them in any way I can so that they are treated the best way possible by Castilla and the first team.

How do you see Castilla heading into the upcoming season?

I think we should be optimistic. Some good players were brought in and some very talented players were promoted from within the academy. I hope it’s a good year and that we at least make it to the playoffs for promotion.

How did the team welcome Pedro Leon?

We are all trying to help him so that he feels like another member of the group. He is very humble and he is a hard worker. I am sure he will do well here.

What expectations do you have for next season?

I don’t set long term goals. Right now I am training with the first team and my goal is to do the best I can. If the coach decides to count on me, fantastic.

Leave a Reply

