Para Siempre Blanco

Özil press conference

Mesut Ozil gave his first press conference as a Real Madrid player accompanied by Director General Jorge Valdano.

Mesut Ozil: "I am proud to be here"

Feeling:

Nothing had been decided before yesterday and I can honestly say I am glad this has had a happy ending.

Goals:

I only aspire to make progress at Real Madrid. This is a great challenge for me. I’ve always concentrated hard and I like to work hard. I stepped on fifth gear and reached the club for which I wanted to play.

Why Real Madrid:

Real Madrid is the best club in the world. I discussed several options with my advisors, but I wanted to come here because I wanted to work with Mourinho, the best coach in the world. I spoke with him and he convinced me to come. What we said will remain between us, but he is the greatest reason for which I’m here today.

Competition for a place:

I know I will make progress. I’ve experienced considerable competition on the German national team and on other sides, but Real Madrid has world class players like Cristiano and Kaka and it will be a pleasure and an honour to play with them.

Khedira:

I congratulated Khedira when he signed for Real Madrid. We’ve been in touch and I’ve asked him several questions. He said good things about the team and told me it is great here.

Aspirations:

The best teams play in Spain and the best in the world is Real Madrid. I hope to do as much as I can to have a satisfactory season. I’m here to win titles and both La Liga and the Champions League are important. We want to win it all and we have enough potential to make it.

Message to the fans:

I’m anxious to play. I’ve always had faith in myself and my friends and family have always supported me. I would tell youngsters to have faith in their dreams.

Kind of player:

I am a number ’10’ player, but I’ve proven I can play in other positions. I am focused to give 100 percent.

One response

  1. people are stupid

    August 24, 2010 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

