Para Siempre Blanco

Cannavaro to Realmadrid.com

Fabio Cannavaro believes Real Madrid will at least take one point in the match against Juventus, his former side.

You played two seasons at Juventus (2004-06)…

This match will be different for me. I spent the best years of my career in Turin. I won two league titles there, although they eventually were taken away from us. I have an excellent relationship with the players and the fans, but I think the latter will boo me on Tuesday because I left the team when it was relegated. Nobody liked that, but I took the once in a lifetime chance of joining Real Madrid.

Will it be different to play a match like this with Real Madrid’s shirt?

No. You always feel the same tension and excitement in games like this.

Do you think Juventus’ fans were hurt by the relegation to the Second Division?

They’ve lived through two difficult years because it is very tough to play in the Second Division. They are proud of playing tomorrow’s match. I’m very happy because I’ll have the chance to see people with whom I spent two fantastic years.

Have you spoken to any of them?

I spoke with Chiellini, who hoped I’d be tired after the match with Atletico. I’ve also spoken with Buffon –who is injured- and Alessandro del Piero.

The match will take place at Comunale, not at Delle Alpi…

That’s right. The pitch at Stadio Comunale has improved a lot; it used to be awful. I think we will at least take one point, despite the fact that people will be more focused on booing me (laughs).

Real Madrid recently ended the streak of not winning away from home in the Champions League in a very long time…

We played spectacularly well in Saint Petersburg. We did well in the first half and showed we know how to suffer in the last 45 minutes. We showcased drive and passion, which are essential in this sport. I think we set the foundations to have a good performance in Turin tomorrow.

You have a two-point cushion over Juventus…

They can’t afford to make any more mistakes and we must end the match with at least one point. We are very motivated because Turin is a special place. We don’t travel to lose.

Would you like to experience this clash in future years as a Real Madrid player?

I feel great in Madrid. I have a great relationship with the fans and my team-mates, but it’s still too soon to think about that. I hope to speak with the Club at the end of the season.

One response

  1. Haysam canna.

    I alway love cannavaro , I am with Italy and Juventus and real madrid all teams of cannavaro LoL.

    October 9, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Leave a comment