Para Siempre Blanco

Interview with The Offside Madridistas – Corey and Bassam

Hey all,

This is a new initiative that I’ve taken to make Hala Madrid more interesting than before, or should I say to make it interesting. And this is something that I have dreamed of – conducting my own interview. So where better to start with than the Blogosphere, I thought. And ergo I chose to interview a handful of the famous and the best Real Madrid bloggers around with reference to Real Madrid.

Today I have for you guys Corey and Bassam from The Real Madrid Offside team who gladly obliged to answer the questions that I had for them despite their busy schedule. So without further adieu, let the show hit the road.

Hi guys, I am sure all Madridistas know you well enough, but for others sake, please introduce yourselves.

Corey: My name is Corey and I am the Real Madrid and Spain editor/blogger on the Offside, as well as being a contributing author to sites like La Liga Weekly.

Bassam: Hey! I’m Bassam. Die hard Real Madrid fan, obviously. Of middle-eastern origin, Lebanon to be exact, but moved to California a year ago. Regretting the decision due to football coverage. Watching games on the TV is so under-rated.

Like we all know, you are the writers at The Real Madrid Offside. Can you tell us a bit about it?

Corey: The Offside is a football blog dedicated to both national and club teams, which got started a couple of years back and has won several blogging awards since then. I took over the Real Madrid page a little under three years ago, and have since had tremendous success due to a very passionate fan base.

Bassam: Well I’ve been helping Corey out in the Real Madrid offside. I’ve been providing review of games regularly for the past couple of months. I also provide some midweek posts on random Real Madrid related subjects whenever I can, and whenever Corey needs the help. The Real Madrid Offside is really an amazing place, with really regular and knowledgeable posters.

Next question, quite a simple one so to speak and something that I’ve asked all Madridistas. Why Real Madrid? And can you tell us about your life as a Real Madrid fan, as in for how long you’ve been supporting Real and why etc.?

Corey: The simple truth is that it was the first European club I ever stumbled upon, as they had won the Champions League in 1998 and there was mention of it here in the US on ESPN, as well as on the internet. They were also the team I played as in FIFA 2002 and on, which further endeared them to me. Even though I was introduced to Real Madrid through various forms of media, what really got me hooked were the all white kits, the amazing players who wanted to play for the club, the culture of winning at the club and the determination to play beautiful football while winning. As an impressionable young man, it was pretty easy to get swept up in the mystique of Real Madrid.

Bassam: Why not? I started watching football (soccer) when I was around 9 years old. First game I ever watched was a Classico. Real Madrid beat Barcelona and it started there. I’ve been a fan for around 11 years now, and I’ve barely missed a game since 2003. I’ve been through the slump of no trophies for three years, and I still supported this team and got pissed after every bad pass. I’m hooked. Let’s not forget that Madrid used to play Champagne football, so you can’t not love them.

When it comes to Real Madrid, it’s mostly about the players we’ve possessed. Anyone whom you idolized in particular?

Corey: The team that I remember most fondly was the team of the Galacticos in 2002. I have always though of Zinedine Zidane as being one of the most gifted players to ever play the game, and to see hip stropping around the field as a Real player was a real gift. But my favorite player has and always will be Raul. The first Madrid kit I ever bought (which cost me an arm and a leg as they were for sale in the US at the time) had Raul’s name on it, and when I scored goals I use to kiss the ring just like Raul. Raul, Guti, Hierro, Casillas, Salgado etc were all great servants to the club in that era and I really idolized that team.

Bassam: Definitely Iker Casillas! He hardly has a bad game, and even when he does have one, his game is at a standard so high it puts him over 99% of goal keepers. His passion to help the team is amazing. He held the team on his shoulders for many years. If you want an outfield player, then I would have to go with De Stafino. You have to admire someone who has been there for around 50 years and more.

Which would you cite as your most memorable Real Madrid moment?

Corey: There have been a lot of ups and downs the past decade, but I would say the Capello title win on the last day was great. The Champions League in 2000 and 2002 were exciting, as were several other titles, but the Capello title of 2007 will live long in the memory, as it demonstrated the great spirit of the team and the magical power of the Bernabeu. Del Bosque’s title in 2003 was exciting too because Sociedad really put up a fight.

There were also some great nights when canteranos played their first games, like Roberto Soldado, Ruben de la Red, Javi Garica, Borja and Balboa, which I will never forget because I kind of projected myself on to those players as I wished I could wear the shirt like they were.

Hopefully La Decima will be my most cherished moment some day…

Bassam: Can you really choose? If I had to pick, it will go down to the comeback win in the 2006/2007 season or the Guard of honor made by Barcelona in the second Clasico of 2007/2008 for the team since they had already sealed the league title. I will go with the latter because of your second question.

Glory days indeed. But what about the most forgettable ones?

Corey: When Perez fired Del Bosque and Hierro was a low point for me, as I thought Vicente was a terrific coach and Hierro a terrific captain. The coaching carousel that followed for three years was a real shame, and the Calderon presidency was very tumultuous as well. Those were all bad times, but when Ruben de la Red collapsed, I was a broken man. He was quickly becoming a favored player of mine, and that he has not played since still pains me.

Bassam: 6-2 against Barcelona last year is up there. I will go with losing to Monaco in the Champions league semi final 6 years ago, with Morientes scoring against us. We were so close to our tenth Champions League title.

Let’s forget that then. We’ve read about your thoughts on the current season on your site several times. If you were  to summarize it in a para for us, what would you say?

Corey: Transition is what this season is about, and considering how much of a disaster last year was with Schuster, Calderon and Juande, I would say that I am pleased with this season. We are a more stable club, despite some bumps in the road, and we are seeing good football again. Pellegrini is the man for the job, and I think that with a good young core, we will have a great side for years. Just because we spent so much money does not mean we will have instant success, but you can feel we are building to something this year, so a league title will be great, but so far it has been a success.

Bassam: I think its been an amazing season considering what happened in the summer. The team needed, and got, a reform in terms of players and administration. Florentino Perez came in and added 8 players and removed 12 players. He then hired a new coach. Anyone who has footballing knowledge knows that managing such a new team with such egos is going to be hard. The fact that we are playing the way we are right now and that we are even competing with one of the greatest Barcelona teams ever. I think that is assign of great potential. My season is a success whatever happens from now on.

We’re fighting for only one title now. What are your hopes on that?

Corey: I’m optimistic, as I think we can outlast Barcelona. We have some big home games coming up and as we all know, we are undefeated at home. That has to be in our favor, and so is no longer having midweek commitments to worry about. The squad knows it has to win a title, and it looks like they are very much focused.

Bassam: It’s in our hands. With 11 finals to go we have to keep up with Messi.

Who are your most favorite and least favorite player from the current squad and why?

Corey: My favorite right now is Pirata, Esteban Granero. He is a canterano which is always special, but I love how he plays. Pipita is always a personal favorite, and I enjoy Sergio Ramos too, so its is hard for me to settle on one person. Of course my idol is Raul, and I have great respect for Guti and Casillas. So I cannot name just one.

My least favorite is Christoph Metzelder. He is a waste of a squad place, and I dont care for Drenthe or Lady Gago either. Their departures this summer are needed.

Bassam: Right now, my most favorite player is Higuain. The lad has heart and talent. My least favorite is Dudek due to lack of options. He really never felt like a Madrid player to be honest.

Anyone whom you’d like to see wear the White of Real Madrid next season?

Corey: I think we definitely need to look in to a left back, although I do think Marcos Alonso of the Castilla team will have a bright future there. Id say we might want another winger, but Pellegrini does not play with two wingers. I’d like to see more young players added to the team, like a Mezut Ozil, Steven Defour or Eden Hazard – all exciting players who can play all along the attacking midfield. I also would like to see Negredo come back this summer, and maybe even another canterano or two, like Callejon who is at Espanyol and is blossoming right now, or maybe promoting a center back such as Mateos.

Bassam: No big signings please. I wanted Filipe before his tragic injury. I will go with an offensive player, Eden Hazard. Great young talent.

This is a fan favorite question. What are your thoughts on Manuel Pellegrini? Do you think he will be fired?

Corey: I think he has done a good job and reminds me of Del Bosque. They handle the players in a similar manner, and I think that is important at such a club. I dont always agree with his lineups, but he has done a great job and he has indeed restored style to the system. I preach continuity and I want to see Pellegrini stay on for his contract, if not longer. He is a winner, and I am not worried if he does not get a title this year.

Bassam: Mostly positive thoughts. He has taken a newly assembled set of individuals and made them into a team. Few managers can do this. Fired? I don’t want him to get fired. But you never know what Florentino is thinking.

Finally on a lighter note, did you enjoy this interview?

Corey: It was great, thanks for having me.

Bassam: Definitely, thanks a lot of the opportunity. Big fan of your blog and your analysis of everything Real Madrid related. Thank you again. Hala Madrid!!

I’d like to thank them again for their time. Everyone loves The Offside. And I am no different. It was indeed a pleasure interviewing them.

The next interview will be with Siddharth Kanjilal from Los-Merengues.com.

Para Siempre Blanco!

Hala Madrid!!

9 responses

  1. Jay

    thanks for the interview!
    this was just great and so fun to read….

    March 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    • Just another Madridista

      It was my pleasure.

      March 23, 2010 at 11:32 pm

  2. Pingback: Good Side of Madrid 3 – 2 Bad Side of Madrid: A Derby Win Always Tastes Sweet! - - The Offside - Real Madrid Spanish La Liga Football Blog

  3. Kaushik

    Hey,

    Great interview. Enjoyed reading it, But I think Bassam makes a factual error. I think we lost to Monaco in the round of 16 and not the semi finals that year. The semi final loss was against Juventus the previous year.

    Kaushik

    March 29, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    • Just another Madridista

      Oh yeah. I thought it was understood which clash he meant so I didn’t bother to correct it. Thanks anyways. 🙂

      March 29, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  4. Siddharth Kanjilal

    The defeat to Monaco was in the quarter finals if I remember correctly.

    March 30, 2010 at 12:31 am

    • Just another Madridista

      Yes. You’re right. It was the round of 8 not 16. We defeated Bayern to face Monaco. Damn that man Morientes.

      March 30, 2010 at 10:05 am

  5. Touche, it was the quarter finals. Still, it hurt to have a player that was loved by the club and fans lead to our elimination.

    March 30, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    • Just another Madridista

      It indeed did. 😦

      April 2, 2010 at 10:36 am

Leave a comment